Braxton Hicks: So that’s what everyone’s talking about!

Today, in the space of a few hours, I had probably a dozen contractions. Not regular, and nothing intense, so just the Braxton-Hicks “practice” variety– but now I know what they are!  I’ve probably been having them for weeks already, and they were just so puny I attributed the feeling to the baby stretching, rather than my uterus squeezing. Basically, my belly feels a bit tight, and if I feel it with my hands while that’s going on, it’s hard all over– instead of just a lump here and there where the baby is trying to stick a foot through my abdominal wall. Doesn’t hurt, and if I were busy doing something else, I probably still wouldn’t notice.

At least I know what the book is talking about, now.

I do feel like there’s been some progress toward “D-day” lately, in addition to the recognizable Braxton-Hicks twinges. The constipation has let up, I’ve been producing more mucus than usual, and I’m not so tired these days, which is nice. Also, my boobs are sore, again. Boobs, you are not allowed to get any bigger. NOT ALLOWED.

I know all of those things can be signs of impending labor, but… they’re ambiguous signs. They’re all things that can happen anywhere from a few days to a few weeks beforehand. So I’m still impatient. Still waiting. Each morning I have a little chat with the kid explaining why today would be a great day to move out.  I’ll let you know how that works.

