Almost 33 weeks

The holidays will be interesting this year. It’ll be the first time we’ve spent them away from either of our families. But the holidays will definitely be too late to travel. Most airlines seem to have a cutoff at 36 weeks or earlier. Who knows? We could end up with a Christmas baby. Or a New Year’s Day baby. Given the family history of long gestations, though, probably a January kid.

My husband has taken up singing to my belly. If he gets right up next to me and starts singing, the baby goes wild with squirming and wriggling– especially the little hand movements that make *me* squirm because I’m so ticklish. Husband thinks this is hilarious, and even I find it pretty funny.

I can’t believe we’re less than two months to ETA. Obviously, if I go to 43 weeks, that doesn’t mean a lot, but…  it’s still the final stretch. And I’m glad. I’ve started having hot flashes and heart-racing episodes. Some days are still ok, but a lot of days I wake up either exhausted or short of breath, and it just doesn’t seem to go away. Today, my husband insisted on going out for groceries alone, because “you’re sounding awfully wheezy”. Ack. I know having a newborn is not exactly restful, but it’ll be nice to be able to breathe properly.

