Missing: White Spots

It doesn’t seem all that significant, but I looked at my hands today, and for the first time EVER there are no white spots on my fingernails. What does this mean? I don’t know. But fingernails are slow growers so I’m guessing it’s either the hormones, or the zinc supplement I started taking before getting pregnant. There are a lot of theories about what causes the spots– physical trauma, zinc deficiency, calcium deficiency, underlying infection… but nobody seems to have a really good explanation, and it’s probably one of those things so insignificant nobody has bothered to find out for sure. So when the Experts answer the “why do I have these white spots on my nails?” question, the ONLY honest answer is “I don’t know.”  I’m calling foul on the injury theory, though– there is no way that pregnancy has suddenly made me more graceful than I’ve ever been in my whole entire life.

The baby is so bouncy these days that my whole belly jiggles with it. I know it’s just a little belly jiggle, but I find it as amusing as watching a kitten chase a string– I like to just lie there and watch. My husband is determined that the baby will not be brainwashed by my tastes in music (which he obviously does not share), and has taken to singing to my belly. Which is hilarious, even if I don’t care for his music. “I know it doesn’t mean anything to you now, kid” I tell the baby, “but your Dad is not always this off-key. That only happens when he’s wearing earphones.”

